top of page

How I'm Keeping Busy During Quarantine

Updated: Mar 30, 2020

On Sunday, March 15th, I got word that the company I work for in L.A was going to have us working remotely for the time-being as Covid-19 caused shutdowns worldwide. That night, it was rumored that L.A was soon going to be going into shutdown as well. What would that mean? It would mean that I, a young person who is immune deficient and considered high risk to contract the virus, would be in an apartment with 3 other girls that come and go and have to also occasionally come in contact with neighbors in the building who are all staying home. Plus, any store you go to is packed no matter what. My parents urged me to come back home to Orange County so I stuffed a bunch of comfy clothes in a suitcase, all my crafty and bullet journal stuff, my cat and her food, my camera and everything I would need for about 2 weeks. Well, we are officially at the 2 week mark and there's talk about this going on through the end of April. Now what?! I'm thankful to have a job that allows me to be able to work remotely, as does my mom. We've converted her craft room into a home office (then back into craft room once we clock out). So how have I been keeping busy without wanting to tear my hair out? Here's how:


  • We've been taking the dogs for more walks than usual. They don't get walked every day as one is older and they have a large backyard that they run around in. Even if you don't have a dog to walk, consider going out and walking around your neighborhood to get moving. We don't want to be oming out of this with a #QuarantineBody.



  • All the little crafts I've been wanting to make have been able to come alive. I've taken over my mom's Cricut Maker and pumping out vinyl for t-shirts, decals and more. We just make 3 t-shirts for my baby cousin to send to her, a sweatshirt as a gift, a shirt for myself, wall decor and more. I even busted out the paints and made a little sunflower painting (and I am in no way an artist).



  • A little different than "crafting", I've been working on some DIY decor for my apartment back in L.A. I just created a stacked hanging shelf (picture coming soon) using materials from Home Depot. I'm also planning out some other cute projects. Check out my Pinterest for more ideas!

  • If you have a blog, take the time to work on those drafts that have been sitting for months. No drafts, no problem. Work on planning out blog posts for the next month, if not longer, and gather all relvent material and information. You don't have to sit down and write them all now but have the resources to be able to whip it out when the time comes.

  • Something I'm sure we're all doing right now is catching up on our Netflix streaming list. I've personally been jumping between Netflix, Hulu and Disney+ (hello, Frozen 2). Create a list of shows and movies you want to watch before quarantine is over so you have a goal to work towards, even if that goal involves not moving from the couch. Also, have you watched Tiger King yet? If not, get with it and your quarantine will be that much better.



  • I've also been trying out new recipes. I'm so used to being so tired and eating out for lunch and then just snacking for dinner. Now that I'm home almost 24/7 with my parents stocked fridge and pantry, we've been finding new recipes to make for dinner and dessert. If I'm being completely honest, I've still been on a diet of Captain Crunch and coffee for breakfast since this started. My Pinterest also has numerous, easy recipes to try out!


I'm still looking for more things to do to keep my mind and body active. Some idea's I've come up with are:

  • Try a virtual work out class

  • Reorganize the kitchen

  • Clean up and reorganize the craft room

  • Start working on ideas for holiday gifts (no time like the present, right?)

  • Play some family board games

  • Maybe try making a tik-tok video?


We'll see what happens in this upcoming month...but we've got this!


Like it? Pin it!



bottom of page