top of page

Coffe is Life: My Favorite Los Angeles Coffee Houses

If there's one thing I can't live without, besides dogs, that's coffee. Since starting my freshman year of college where I indulged in it for the first time, it's become not just a drink I enjoy on a cold morning, but it's become a habit and a lifestyle. I love finding new shops and trying out their creative drinks. I compiled a list of my favorite coffee houses based on coffee quality, ambiance/environment and overall awesomeness here in Los Angeles.


1. Stumptown Coffee Roasters

Ok, so this might be a little biased considering I live right next door but after the first time I sucked down a soy vanilla latte on my move in day 2 years ago, I was hooked. Not only do I opt for other coffee houses that serve Stumptown, everything else is pretty much inferior. When it comes to the shop itself, they recently went under a remodel adding in more seating indoors and out creating a seamless, flowing environment.

Go to drink: Soy Vanilla Iced Latte




2. Muddy Paw Coffee Company

This Silverlake gem was a dream come true when I came across it. I remember driving down Sunset Blvd and spotting a sign with a paw print and the name "Muddy Paw" so I had to Google it. When I found out this was a dog themed coffee shop, I had to make a special trip to try it out. I often only venture there when I'm in the area or my dog sitting job is close by. But every once in a while, I have to go out of my way to support them. A coffee shop where part of the proceeds go back to rescue and hosts adoptions?? How much better can you get! And all their specialty drinks come with fun, punny dog and cat related names making ordering so much fun. The inside of the shop is small but they have an outdoor patio out back surrounded by greenery allowing you to chill with your four legged best friend while sipping on a Salty Sea Dog.

Go to drink: Puppy Love




3. Gypsy Den

Ok, so this isn't LA but it's close enough. Gypsy Den holds it's home inside The Lab Anti-Mall in Costa Mesa down in Orange County. This was my first go-to coffee house and cafe after my love for the dark drink started. I spent so many late nights here studying and still hop over for lunch when I'm in town visiting my parents. The ambiance is very vintage, Gypsy chic where no tables or chairs match and the walls are filled with hodge-podge art. Outside features a couple glass fireplaces with comfy benches for ultimate relaxation. This spot holds so many memories for me and I cannot recommend it enough!

Go to drink: Soy Mayan Mocha




I'm always on the hunt for new spots, especially when I'm traveling. Hopefully, I can bring you my favorite coffee houses, international version!





bottom of page